Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Darkside Question (Newbie)

4 posters

Go down

Darkside Question (Newbie) Empty Darkside Question (Newbie)

Post  footballdad Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:29 pm

Hi All,
I am new to the site, so I am looking forward to learning alot since I am still a novice. I decided instead of storing my bike for the winter, I am going to keep it in my garage to play around during the long upstate ny winter. I have been reading about going darkside and I think this will be a good project for the winter. I have an 07 vtx 1300c. Is there a detail description of the how to do this? As I said, I am a novice, but I am excited about doing this. I would appreciate any advice or suggestions. Thanks.

footballdad

Number of posts : 1
Registration date : 2010-10-17

Back to top Go down

Darkside Question (Newbie) Empty Re: Darkside Question (Newbie)

Post  quadancer Sun Oct 17, 2010 9:04 pm

Ya stick the tire on.
Point it at the street.
Ride the Hell outta it!
Actually, you'll want to work the tire in first, cleaning off the mold release, taking low speed corners for a while. I burned mine in in a half hour in the residential, but they recommend 100 miles. I just corner hard anyway, but best to do at low speeds first.
No one else wants to try it, but we put a Dunlop Signature on a bike like yours 205/75/15 and my guy won't run anything else - we ride aggressive too.
quadancer
quadancer

Number of posts : 1245
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Back to top Go down

Post  jedishon Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:21 am

All but the guy mentioned above ride 65 or 70 series tires on their 1300's.