Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Good Info

3 posters

Go down

Good Info Empty Good Info

Post  P3Popeye Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:15 am

Fellow Darksiders, here's some links to interesting info regarding our passion. I've about 3500 miles now on my GY Assurance Comfort Tread 205/65/16 and loving it!! Best settings have been (VTX 1800C) 3 on my rear shocks and 41psi in the tire (fyi I have the progressive fork springs installed) Give me quick responsive handling, stable tracking in turns (freeway at 65mph) and max comfort ride. I ride every day. I'm an engineer at heart and like to understand "exactly" how thing work. To that end I'm always looking for info regarding the exact differences between riding with a MT vs. CT. Here's some good reading I recently found. Enjoy.

Ride safe, ride hard....Ride!

http://mc.bridgestone.co.jp/pdf/mcintroe.pdf

http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/tech/0907_crup_mounting_car_tires_on_motorcycles/index.html

HOWEVER THE BELOW IS FROM SAME MAG RE; CT ON BOSS HOSS:

With 130/90-16 Continental motorcycle tire on the front wheel and that big, square-profile Firestone P225/70R15 radial car tire on the back, we anticipated all sorts of adventures in corners. We were therefore extremely and pleasantly surprised to discover that the Boss Hoss actually tracked pretty precisely and smoothly around as many corners as we could find in south Florida. It steered with no more force than needed for other "big" bikes. We suspect that the makers of the tires shudder to think of their products being used in that context and combination, but at least on dry pavement, we couldn't find much to quibble about. You could tell that the rear tire's profile wasn't rounded like a motorcycle tire's, but you can confidently lean it over far enough to drag things, which requires more lean angle than many cruisers.