Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thinking of turning to the Darkside

5 posters

Go down

Thinking of turning to the Darkside Empty Thinking of turning to the Darkside

Post  3milerider Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:36 am

Well, it's getting to be about time for me to replace the tires on my new bike. Bought a '05 Honda Shadow Aero 750 about a month ago that had low mileage, but still had stock tires on it. A few days ago I was cleaning the bike up and noticed that my tires are starting to crack on the sidewalls. Nothing serious yet, but enough to get me thinking about new tires. As this is my first time changing tires on any bike I've owned (my old one was a daily commuter bike that after 3 1/2 years still has pretty fresh looking tires) and the first time I've actually cared to do research on my vehicle rather than just let a shop make my decisions (I'm a lot more invested in the fun of my bike than I ever have been with a car).

So, I stumbled across a mention of the Darkside on another forum I frequent, but the topic is quickly squelched there due to inevitable flaming, so I decided to come seek an open place to ask questions. First, I've done enough research to figure out that 165/80/15 is what I need for my rear, it's just a matter of finding a shop to mount/balance them for me as I don't have the equipment at home.

What I want to know is, how can I tell if the bead will match up? Will any 165/80/15 match my rim? Does it matter that I'll be forced to mix radial and bias-ply (I can't find a radial CT/MT that will fit my front, or a bias-ply CT that fits my rear)? Does it matter that my bike has spoked wheels, so that it is designed for bias-plys (or so I understand)? And finally, if I do go radial, I still need to use a tube correct?

3milerider

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2011-07-28

Back to top Go down