Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tire brands: which one is best?

5 posters

Go down

Tire brands: which one is best? Empty Tire brands: which one is best?

Post  Francesco Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:56 pm

Hi Everyone,
let me first tell you that this is a great site with a lot of great info about bikes, and great people.
I am not going to ask if putting a CT tire on my bike will kill me because I did a lot of research (that's what I do for a living!!) and a car tire actually under an engineering point of view perform better than a MT, b/c of the profile and the dynamic between the tire and the pavement...etc etc.
Don't mean to give a lecture on this although I will be happy to share my findings with whoever wants more details on it.

I will get to the point: I have a 2003 honda shadow 750 with spoked rims and my understanding is that using a 165/80/15 with tube is the ticket.
I found several options from a site
http://ssl.delti.com/cgi-bin/rshop.pl?dsco=135&cart_id=12088771.135.4364&Cookie=froogle&m_s=3&tyre_for=PKWGAN&s_p=All-Season_Tires that seems reputable.
Which tire is the best? the kuhmo seems the most widely used but there are other options that have good reviews. The federal has a good review ( for car), a little better than kuhmo, but it is on the list of tires that may blow up during installation on a bike.

What do you guys think? which one would you suggest?

Thank you

Francesco

Francesco

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2009-03-04

Back to top Go down

Tire brands: which one is best? Empty Re: Tire brands: which one is best?

Post  jedishon Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:31 pm

I would go with a tried and true tire for my first one.

Jerry
jedishon
jedishon
Super User
Super User

Number of posts : 4436
Registration date : 2007-12-18

Back to top Go down

Post  nodakbassmaster Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:28 am

jedishon wrote:I would go with a tried and true tire for my first one.