Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Anyone do their own dark side?

5 posters

Go down

Anyone do their own dark side? Empty Anyone do their own dark side?

Post  vtx07r Sat Oct 13, 2012 1:19 pm

Just curious if any on here done it themselves?

Recently picked up some tire tools and while I've never done tires before I'm willing to give it a shot.

Tire I was going to probably use is General Altimax 205 / 70 / 15.

Seen something about narrower tire being better handling?

Bike is 1300 R.

Not in huge rush to get this done since I have a brand new Metzeler on now but I do want to try the darkside.
Hoping I can get my current tire off in one piece so I can go back to MC tire if I decide darkside is not for me.

Looks like the main problem with these is the insane pressure required to set the bead.

Seen post over on vtxcafe about heating tire up out in the sun on a very hot day and that helps make the bead seat easier.

vtx07r

Number of posts : 15
Registration date : 2012-09-18

Back to top Go down

Anyone do their own dark side? Empty Re: Anyone do their own dark side?

Post  Doc Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:32 pm

I know some Wing guys that mount their tires with spoons.
A 205 works well on a VTX...

Yep, the sun will warm the rubber up and make it more pliable so it will mount and seat easier. thumbup
Doc
Doc
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1069
Registration date : 2008-04-21

Back to top Go down

Post  quadancer Sat Oct 13, 2012 8:13 pm

I mount my own on the Harley. My choice of slick-um is tire shine.
quadancer
quadancer

Number of posts : 1245
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Back to top Go down

Post  Fly Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:20 am

With the already much softer sidewalls of car tires, I found keeping them out of the Sun makes it easier to mount, and I do change all tires myself.