Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Darkside - first impressions GL1800 w/ContiPro SSR 195/55/16

+6
jedishon
ttexastim
simpleman77
xhdskip
smokey2255
Mark Newcomb
10 posters

Go down

New to Darkside - first impressions GL1800 w/ContiPro SSR 195/55/16 Empty New to Darkside - first impressions GL1800 w/ContiPro SSR 195/55/16

Post  Mark Newcomb Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:05 am

Hi Folks. I am new to logging onto the board (been lurking for about 6 months) and a brand new darksider.

I had a ContiPro SSR 195/55/16 All Season put on the back of my '06 GL1800 and wanted to give my impressions after the first 200 miles.

A little background before I get to my impressions:
My Goldwing has had the full traxxion dynamics upgrade (front and rear) except for the frok brace. I have an air bag model & at the time I had the traxxion update done, there was no fork brace available for that model.

I have about 25K on the bike now (bought in spring of '07) and ride a fair amount every year.. A couple of years ago I did the SCMA four corners tour (shown here: http://www.usa4corners.org/ ) and have riden in all the lower 49 states on this bike.

I am NOT a "peg-dragger", usually traveling on city roads or the highways when actually going someplace. If I am just cruising, I usually take the smaller state roads. I seldom purposefully ride in the rain. I do not have aq trailer, and my only usual rider is my 8 year old daughter.

I am still in the testing phase, but am currently running at 39 PSI. I started at 45 PSI and am working my way down, testing handling, looking at the tread pattern on wet cement, etc.

My imprssions on going to the darkside: