Riding on the Darkside
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What tire combination for me ??

+2
Larry Simpson
Herbie
6 posters

Go down

What tire combination for me ?? Empty What tire combination for me ??

Post  Herbie Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:26 am

Opinions please. I have a 2005 1300R. Currently running a metz 880 150 on the front and a kumho 165? CT on the rear. Both tires are near needing to be replaced.

I’ve been riding for about 35 years. So I’m experienced. I don’t feel comfortable lately leaning the bike in tight corners. I bought the X in the fall of 2005. I’ve never scraped the floor boards. Suffice it to say I’m don’t ride aggressively. My concern is this … although I don’t scrape the boards through the twisties … I’d like to feel confident that I COULD if the situation warranted ( too fast on an unfamiliar corner, emergency evasive action, etc ).

Finally my question. Is there a tire combination ( MC front / CT back, or both MC front and back ) that would make the bike easier to lean and feel more solid in the corners? I know a lot of this is probably just pushing myself or learning a technigue to get through the corners quicker… but could the 150 tire on the front ( opposed to the stock 140 ) , or the CT in back maybe be causing the ride to feel a little less stable in the turns.

Forgive my ramblings. But I have the opportunity to replace both tire now, and want to get the setup that would make the bike turn the easiest and feel the best ( solid ) in the tighter turns. As for darksie, I’m fine with that if that is the best for me… but I have no problems going with MT front and rear if that is the best combination to make the bike feel better ( stick.. solid..) around the corners .. hence giving me more confidence to lean it further if the situation demands.

More info; I’m a big SOB 6’1” 300#.. I have progressive springs and shocks. What tire combination would you recommend for me? Thanks