Interested in others' CT mounting stories

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Interested in others' CT mounting stories

Post  wren on Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:05 am

Haven't been here in a while but I now have a reason for wanting to hear from others.

I've been mounting CTs for folks for about eight years now. It's been a pretty cut and dried experience for me. Haven't had any problems mounting CTs til recently.

I've always mounted CTs after a thorough cleaning of the rims, use diluted Dawn dish soap and pressures around 100 psi have been normal to bead the tires.

I've noticed this year that getting the tires to bead has gotten more difficult. I put an Alti Max on my bike last week and it took 125 psi to bead it. I didn't like that at all but I got it on and she's rolling true. Had a tire three weeks ago that took 120 psi. It finally beaded.

Had a guy come in last week to change out a CT I mounted for him two years ago. He'd worn it down to the wear bars. The first replacement tire I went to mount was a Mastercraft Touring LSR. That puppy would not bead at all. With the owner's urging I put insane pressure to it -130 psi. I reset the bead eight or ten times. I let it set overnight with 120 psi. No bead. I told the owner I'd had enough of that tire and somebody was gonna get hurt if I kept playing with it.

He brought me a Multi-Mile Matrix Tour RS to mount. No bead. Reset and reset. I was at 110 psi, one side beaded and looked like the other was sliding into place. I have no idea why I did it and no excuse, 'cause I know better, but I had my hand laying on the tire - and she blew out. Right where my hand was laying. Yeah, I now have a badly injured hand. It's gonna be useless for some time.

Posted this experience at the Cafe and in responses I hear of tires blowing out now at far less pressures than I've been working with. Also tires are beading at far less pressure than what I've come to accept as normal.