Quantifiable evidence - is the darkside safe, or not?

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Quantifiable evidence - is the darkside safe, or not?

Post  Orygunner on Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:21 pm

HI,

I've been running the Darkside for 2 years and over 10,000 miles now on my 2005 Vulcan 2000 Limited. I have an opportunity to have a discussion on the subject with some motorcycle safety professionals, and they have requested that I bring any quantifiable evidence regarding the safety of the practice of running a car tire on motorcycles.

The only problem is, I can't FIND any. Sure, I could point out the thousands of riders registered on this forum and others, and I could compile the reports from different riders and their reported trouble-free mileage, but that's all just anecdotal evidence gathered from people who believe in the practice.

Have there been any actual surveys, studies, or anything else regarding car tires on motorcycles? Any new testing data from any legitimate, official sources such as tire or motorcycle manufacturers?

Thanks,

...Orygunner...

Orygunner

Number of posts : 11
Registration date : 2011-06-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Quantifiable evidence - is the darkside safe, or not?

Post  quadancer on Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:14 pm

First off, I think the more press we get, eventually the sooner the greedy beurocrats (sp) will begin legislation. Then MT manufacturors will make a better bike tire, that will
cost even more than the present ones do, and we will be REQUIRED to run them instead of CT's, since there will probably be a new "designation" on the tire, qualifying it for
use on a bike. Ever see anything go any other way with something good?
Second: you're not gonna find any studies that haven't been done. Were it me, I'd take a few Darkside buds along, with your bikes, about 25 cones, and invite your "safety